2009/10 Updates

Hello from your new webmaster! I’ve now completed my first phase of updates for the new academic year. Given that Matt did such an excellent job constructing the website last year, I decided to break with the tradition of starting completely afresh this year and have instead decided to build on his hard work. Initially, a lot of the time I’ve put in has been behind the scenes, improving and expanding on the code that runs the site and whilst most of these changes won’t be immediately obvious, they contribute to the smoother administration of the site, which should lead to more frequent updates over the coming year. Unfortunately, given that I’m away on a placement abroad at the moment (and obviously want to get the most out of that), I haven’t managed to make all the updates I have planned yet, but they will come over the next few weeks.

One thing I’ll mention now is that I’ve removed our Twitter feed from the site. This is for two reasons. Firstly, the only “real person” who was “following” it was Matt (sorry!), and secondly, one of my changes to the coding of the site allows this area on the front page to be updated far more easily. As such, site update news etc. will appear here now.

I’ll always welcome comments and suggestions about the site (as long as they’re friendly!), so feel free to drop me an email (baileya) if you have things you want added, if something isn’t working, or you just want to voice an opinion. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

